“Around here, however we don’t look backwards for very long. We keep moving forward, opening up new doors and doing new things… and curiosity keeps leading us down new paths.” –Walt Disney

Walt doesn’t inspire me often, I am more of Henson kind of gal. But this quote is truly inspirational. I need to keep moving forward. Life isn’t about finding who you are, its about defining yourself.

I have struggled in figuring out what sets me apart, and what makes me different. On that quest, I might as well talk about some things I enjoy. (for the record, sorry about all the negativity lately, Its been a difficult transition for me).

I have an odd obsession with things that are homemade, clothes, blankets, food. If it can be made from scratch, I want to know how to do it.

I guess I have decided if there was an apocalypse I want to be able to live my life comfortably. haha.

Anyway, I recently found out about the GLORY of homemade butter.

Yes, GLORY!

hallelujah.

I am Paula Dean at heart, I love butter. Everything is better with butter. Bring on the cardiac arrest, because dear sweet Jesus, butter is going to claim my life one day.

I think it is the one food I am unwilling to compromise on. So today, I decided I was finally going to try it. I will never buy store butter again. (unless I’m in a hurry, in which case this past five minutes of ranting is a waste).

I started off shaking the heavy cream in a jar, and soon realized that I don’t have the ambition for it. Turning to my blender made things a LOT faster.

It was so good.

If you are interested in your own butter making then this is the best post I have found about the art of it: One Green Generation

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on ““Around here, however we don’t look backwards for very long. We keep moving forward, opening up new doors and doing new things… and curiosity keeps leading us down new paths.” –Walt Disney

  1. master of none,
    I was looking for instructions for making butter from cream –> mostly wanting to know how much cream makes “how much” butter… and ended up following a comment to your blog. It’s nice to peek inside someone else’s head once in a while. Anyhow, you mentioned losing weight and I wanted to drop you a note and tell you about a resource I found that has proven really instructive: myfitnesspal.com I mostly use it (intermittantly) to see where I am in my daily food intake. It’s not promoting any product, etc. just a good resource for entering your food intake and seeing how the fats-carbs-proteins balance, how many calories are suggested for your size and goals, and where you are, on a meal-to-meal basis with the recommended calorie count for the day. Very interesting. Of course, you can get ‘way into it and have diet buddies, post your weight loss, etc. But mostly it’s just a good tool. Just saying . . .

Leave a Reply

